Some of Australia’s leading cultural workers recognised in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List

Amongst the many musicians, actors, writers, historians, artists, cultural and heritage advocates, museum and gallery colleagues, and community volunteers, we’d like to make special mention of those who have contributed in a voluntary capacity to our field, whether through participating in or running professional associations, boards and committees, contributing to volunteer societies and community organisations, or sharing their knowledge and speaking up on issues of profound cultural importance.


Ms Patricia SABINE (former National President of AMaGA); Dr Mat TRINCA, (former National Secretary of AMaGA and current President of ICOM Australia); Professor Margaret GARDNER; Professor Larissa BEHRENDT; Distinguished Professor Genevieve BELL; Professor Emerita Joan BEAUMONT; Emeritus Professor Richard BROOME; Professor Raelene FRANCES; Dr Alison INGLIS; Mrs Susan LOGIE-SMITH; Mr Duncan MARSHALL; Mr Graham McKENZIE-SMITH; Dr Peter PEDERSEN; Dr Judith SMART; Ms Tracey WHITING; Dr Robyn WILLIAMS; Mr John YOUNG; Mr Jonathan BRIGGS; Rear Admiral Peter BRIGGS; Dr Adele CHYNOWETH; Mr Gionni DI GRAVIO; Mr Maxwell DINGLE; Ms Kerrie DOUGHERTY; Mr Peter DUNN; Dr Zenaida EDWARDS; the late Mr Peter FORD; Mr Terence HETHERINGTON; Mr Noel JACKLING; Mr Peter KAHN; Mr Russell MAGEE; Mr Andrew PEAKE; Mrs Marjorie Anne QUINN; Ms Katrina SEDGWICK; Dr John STANISIC; Ms Kate TORNEY; Mr Peter WILLIAMS; Ms Carole WOODS; Professor Clare WRIGHT; Ms Irena ZDANOWICZ; and Mrs Donna OSLAND.


For the full list – see

Supporters and Partners