The Museums Australia Constitution (2002) defines a 'museum' as an institution with the following characteristics:

A museum helps people understand the world by using objects and ideas to interpret the past and present and explore the future. A museum preserves and researches collections, and makes objects and information accessible in actual and virtual environments. Museums are established in the public interest as permanent, not-for-profit organisations that contribute long-term value to communities.

The following qualify as museums:

  • social history and folk museums
  • art galleries and art centres
  • natural, archaeological and ethnographic monuments and sites and historical monuments and sites of a museum nature that acquire, conserve and communicate material evidence of people and their environment
  • institutions holding collections of and displaying specimens of plants and animals, such as botanical and zoological gardens, herbaria, aquaria and vivaria
  • science centres
  • cultural centres and other entities that facilitate the preservation, continuation and management of tangible or intangible heritage resources (living heritage and digital creative activity), such as Keeping Places
  • such other institutions as the National Council consider as having some or all of the characteristics of a museum.

Check out all the benefits


Levels and Fees

  • Organisational membership of AMaGA is based on annual operating budget. 
  • Fees cover membership for 12 months from renewal.
  • Prices are in $AUD and include GST. 
Organisation Level A - Less than $50,000
Organisation Level B - $50,000 - 200,000
Organisation Level C - $200,000 - $2 million
Organisation Level D - $2 million - $8 million
Organisation Level E - $8 million - $25 million
Organisation Level F - More than $25 million
Level F National - More than $25 million