The Historians Network provides information, support and connection for historians working in and with museums and galleries across Australia. We do this through information sharing and advocacy, and providing opportunities for networking, discussion and learning. All members are invited to suggest ideas for events at any time.

The Network offers a small number of bursaries to assist members who may not otherwise be able to do so to attend the annual AMaGA conference. This is a competitive program and members will receive notice of the application deadline early in the conference year.

Members are invited to share information about their activities, interesting articles and photos via Instagram @amaga_historians or Twitter @AMaGAhistorians. Simply include the Networks’ handle in your post. Material that is considered to be of a controversial nature may be considered by members of the Committee prior to a decision being made to post it to the Network’s platforms. Any such decision will be final.

President:             Rebecca Carland, Senior Curator History of Collections, Museums Victoria
Vice-President:    Dr Lily Withycombe, Curator, National Museum of Australia
Treasurer:             Dr Michelle Stevenson, Head Society & Technology, Museums Victoria
Secretary:             Dr Karen Schamberger, Curator, National Library of Australia
Social Media Officer: Grace Coulter, Curator, National Museum of Australia


Ordinary Members:

Christen Bell, Curator, City of Armadale, Western Australia

Shane Breynard, PhD Candidate, Australian National University

Kiera Lindsey, South Australia's History Advocate, History Trust of South Australia

Elizabeth Bissell, Senior Curator, Queensland Museum 

Network Fee:

Timelines was the Network’s bi-annual newsletter which was published until 2018. An archive of Timelines is available in the Resources section below.