Aviation Museums

AMNN has a $250 Joining Fee and is a Network open to Community Aviation Museums as Organisational Members of MA focusing on co-operation, support and development of volunteer-run aviation museums.

Our objectives are to:

  1. Develop an interactive network of communication by co-operation and self help between participating volunteer based aviation museums in Australia
  2. Further the preservation of Australian aviation heritage and the ongoing successful development and operation of existing and future aviation museums
  3. Improve the operation of volunteer or community based not-for-profit aviation museums and collections
  4. Adopt Museums Australia standards and accreditation
  5. Promote aviation preservation to governments, industry and the general public
  6. Adopt and operate Museums Australia Code of Ethics.

The participating museums of the AMNN are:

Australian Aircraft Restoration Group (Melbourne (Vic)

Australian Gliding Museum (Bacchus Marsh (Vic)
Australian Aviation Museum (Bankstown (NSW)
Australian Vintage Aviation Society (Caboolture, Qld)

Aviation Historical Society of NT (Darwin (NT)
B 24 Liberator Museum (Werribee (Vic)

Benalla Aviation Museum (VIC)

Evans Head Memorial Aerodrome Heritage Aviation Association (NSW)
Queensland Air Museum (Caloundra (Qld)
RAAF Assoc. of WA – Heritage Museum (Perth (WA)
South Australian Aviation Museum (Adelaide (SA)

Keep checking back here for more information as we update the AMNN page with newsletters, advocacy information and events.


Network Contacts:

President John Park
Manager/Curator – Aviation Heritage Museum of Western Australia
2 Bullcreek Drv, Bull Creek 6149
e: museum@raafawa.org.au
p: 08 9311 4470
w: www.raafawa.org.au/museum

Vice President Rod Kinnish
President, Evans Head Memorial Aerodrome Heritage Aviation Association
61 Memorial Airport Drive, Evans Head          
w: ehham.org.au

Secretary Ken Lai
Curator, Aviation Historical Society of the Northern Territory
557 Stuart Highway, Winnellie 0821
p: 08 8947 2145
w: www.darwinsairwar.com.au

Treasurer Pieter Van Dyke
President, South Australian Aviation Museum
66 Lipson St, Port Adelaide
e: president@saam.org.au
p: 08 8240 1230    
w: www.saam.org.au

Committee member Cameron Elms
President, Queensland Air Museum
7 Pathfinder Drv, Caloundra Airport  4551
e: president@qam.com.au
p: 07 5492 5930
w: www.qam.com.au

How to join

Contact the Committee President for more information on joining this network.