ACT Branch bursaries

Image used with permission of Roger Garland

The ACT Branch provides travel bursaries annually to support ACT Branch member attendance at the Australian Museums and Galleries Association National Conference and, from time to time, other conferences and seminars.


2020 bursaries

Bursaries for ACT AMaGA members are now open for the 2020 AMaGA National Conference which will be held in Canberra 18-21 May.  More information



Cartwright/Douglas Fund

Bursaries are also available from the private philanthropic Cartwright/Douglas Fund. Expressions of interest arrangements will be announced in early 2020.

Cartwright/Douglas Fund bursary 2020 (to come)




Past bursaries

2019 national conference

For 2019 the ACT Branch provided funds for two bursaries of up to $2250 each for travel bursaries for the Australian Museums and Galleries Association 2019 national conference At the centre - our people, our places, our practices in Alice Springs/Mparntwe.


2018 national conference

Bursaries up to $1500 each for Australian Museums and Galleries Association ACT branch members for attendance at the 2018 national conference Agents of change were decided by competitive application and awarded to Michelle Davenport, Nicole O'Dowd and Shona Coyne. These bursary recipients spoke of their experience at the Conference insights event held on 27 June 2018.


2017 national conference

Two $1500 bursaries for Australian Museums and Galleries Association ACT branch members were decided by competitive application for the Australian Museums and Galleries Association 2017 national conference Museums and galleries in their cultural landscapes 14-17 May 2017 held in Brisbane. The successful candidates were Sheridan Burnett and Sacha Fawkes.


2017 Digital Directions symposium

One $320 bursary was awarded to Alana Sivell for attendance at the third annual Digital Directions symposium held in Canberra 19 October 2017.

Symposium report (342kB)




2016 joint Australia and New Zealand national conference

Four branch bursaries to assist attendance at the Museum Australasia 2016 conference in New Zealand were awarded to:

  • Barbara Paulson, National Museum of Australia
  • Rachael Coghlan, PhD Candidate, Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies, Australian National University
  • Hakim Abdul Rahim, Australian National Museum of Education
  • Grace Blakeley-Carroll, National Portrait Gallery.



Top ten tips

Here are some tips on how to make a good bursary application:

Top ten tips (152kB)